Calloused violin fingers.

I’ve been playing my violin for a good two-and-a-half hours and it feels so goooooooooooood! I’m very out of practice with the whole ‘practicing violin’ idea, but I’m enjoying being able to play for hours on end without really having to have achieved something by the end. Having not had a violin teacher for about 5 months (I stopped having lessons before exams), it’s nice to now have a repertoire of pieces I can play if I want to, but there’s no desperate need to get things perfect by a certain date or performance. Sure, I’m trying to get things right and perfect, but it’s not like I feel I have to stress over a bar of notes if it just doesn’t seem to be coming right. I’ve got the time to just put it down and play something else, and then pick it up and try it again the next day if I want.

I mentioned a few posts ago that I was wanting to learn to play some proper ‘songs’, not just classical stuff. Well, inspired by The Decemberists, I’ve been working my way through a Caledonian fiddle book I discovered I owned, as well as trying some of the solos in their songs (namely the song at the end of this post). The point of me telling you all this is, really, just to let you know I’m happy I’ve revived my passion for violin. I miss playing in orchestras and I especially miss the music courses I used to go on. But until I manage to find the musical bums at uni, this stuff is doing me just fiiiiine 🙂

All of the above fits in very well with what I had the pleasure of waking up to this morning, as a matter of fact: a beautiful email from an old friend of mine whom I met on one of these said ‘music courses’. It’s little things like sending an email to someone who you haven’t spoken to for ages than can truly make someone’s day. Just knowing that there is someone else out there – someone you know but have lost contact with and don’t see everyday – that still cares and hasn’t forgotten about you, it makes you feel worth a little bit more. And I definitely needed this little boost after yesterday, so thank you dear friend, it means a lot 🙂

Annnnnd I would love to post a little bit o’ music here, but I was greeted with a lovely message from youtube which basically told me that my internet is now suffering too badly to even be able to open the youtube homepage. Beautiful. Oh well, by the time my internet renews I’ll be enjoying university internet access 🙂 Fingers crossed that I won’t again have to go weeks without my darling youtube…

Leave a Reply

