North.

This is where I am at the moment. It’s where I have been since Thursday, and where I will be until this Wednesday. My family have moved up here and they’re renting a house here because…well actually, I don’t really know why. Same as I don’t know why we ever moved to New Zealand (not that I regret it), but it all seems to boil down to the fact that Dad always wants a change. But meh, it doesn’t affect me too much other than that it screws with my pre-University Life summer. I’ll be off to university in February so that’ll be that.

I’m very happy about this because the two-and-a-half days I’ve spent up here so far have been so boring…

Thursday: We didn’t actually arrive here until gone 6pm. The three-hour drive was longest I’ve ever driven by myself (although my brother sat in the passenger seat and force-fed me his Eminem CD in my car stereo…how did that happen?) Anyway, first impressions of the house were that it looks like a real country house from the outside – all wooden and barn-shaped. My room is tiny, but I guess that makes sense as I’m hardly going to be living here. There’s land and chicken houses and all the other typical country stuff. Oh, and I had to sleep on the floor because the bed’s arrived on Friday. This was a lovely experience.

Friday: Unpacking day. Removal men arrived at 9am, unloaded the truck-full of our crappy furniture things. We were left to arrange everything into some sort of order. I stuck to my room and got my four boxes unpacked and bed/wardrobe/dressing table etc. assembled. I had to put all my school books and heaps of my old teddies in boxes on top of my wardrobe because my room’s so small. It’s kinda sad knowing that the next time I open those boxes could well be when I have a house of my own (hopefully with you?) 😀 Is it weird that I’m really looking forward to going through old boxes of photos and diaries and toys with you some time in the future? Gah, I can’t wait to grow up beside you.

Saturday (today): Ugh. Ill as hell this morning. Cured this by complaining lots and eating. Then this afternoon I decided it was time to make Christmas cards. I still can’t get used seeing Christmas ads in stores that you’re walking through in shorts and jandals, or hearing the radio – “Your Summer Hit station *insert frequency here*” followed by Wham!’s ‘Last Christmas’ or something just as corny. For the last few years I’ve sent cards to heaps of ‘friends’, but judging by the select few that seem to share the mutual worthy-of-a-Christmas-card feeling, I’ve decided to just stick to family this year. And maybe another special person or two… But yes, that was today’s mission accomplished – 6 home-made cards DONE. Feels goooood 🙂

But now I’m tired and at a loose end, and waiting for you to txt me/come online. Except you don’t get home for another 2 hours or something, so I’ll probably end up reading my book (which is actually yours) and making lists of things I want to/need to/wish I could do.

One more thing – I miss you so much. I saw you on Wednesday, but it’s another 4 days ’til I get to see you again. But at least then it’s for a weeeeeeek 😀 Yayayayayayayay 😀 I miss other people too. I miss your boys and Kristy and Sacha and Hayley and Anna. Grrrrr. I’m looking forward to Wednesday (and Thursday and Friday) and Saturday! (Christmas In The Park = evening avec toi AND other people 😀 ) Exciteeeeeeed!

This is too beautiful for words. ❤

Leave a Reply

