EPIC WEEKEND!

OK, I’ve been putting off writing this post until I can actually afford to, but now I’m finally/already in bed with my hot water bottle and cat (he’s a one night only kinda thing i.e. it must be bloody cold outside for him to actually want to stay in my room because usually my brother steals him) I can get writing 🙂

So, take any weekend on facebook. We all have a few of those ‘friends’/people-who-we-met-once-at-a-party-and-barely-know who, every Sunday/Saturday/both/any day after they’ve been out the night before post a highly original status proclaiming their ‘EPIC NIGHT LAST NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!’ or letting us know of their ‘BANGIN’ weekend!!!! Shit son!’ Now, I hate to be a party-pooper and all that, but if it was that good a night, in my books, you generally don’t wake-up from your zombified slumber until 7 days later by which time you don’t have time to announce your awesome antics on facebook due to the fact that you kinda have a hell of a lot of ‘life’/IB work to catch up on. So, seeing as ‘epic weekend’s’ look set to be on hold for a few months (or at least as of this coming weekend until the end of November), I thought I’d compile a list of a particularly monumental weekend for me, your fairly typical IB kid.

– It’s universally agreed that whoever decided to put the hand-in deadline for Extended Essay and SL Maths Portfolio on the same day at exactly the same time is, for want of a better word, an absolute bloody dickhead. I think I’m one of the few lucky ones who handed in their essay before the weekend. (Believe me, it wasn’t planned, it just sort of happened. It’s funny how things do that.) But yes, that makes a slightly epic weekend in my opinion. Two very major assignments completed and (hopefully will be) handed in before 8:30am tomorrow. (And I would apologise to those still at it 10 hours before these things are due, but honestly, at what point do you realise you’re ‘behind’? When it’s too late, obviously.)

– As I said before, I’m not a party-pooper. In fact, to take the words of Rico from Hot Rod, “I’m Emma, and I like to party!” Well yeah, anywaaaaay. The fact that all work is done AND I got a bit of a boogie in there makes this weekend twice as successful. And, if I realised one very important thing this weekend, it would be to definitely, if you’re going to go out and party or drink or whatever, do it on a Friday. For starters it gives you two days recovery if you reeeeally need it, but also…Friday…end of the week (beginning of the work)…might as well start it well. You’ll also find you waste so much less time (if you’re female anyway) with the whole ‘getting ready’ fiasco. Average time taken getting ready on a Saturday = 2-3 hours (inc. shower, drying hair, straightening hair, choosing clothes etc.); average time taken getting ready on a Friday = 1/2 hour (inc. go to friend’s after school, already chosen clothes, pre-drinks etc.) So oui, Friday is the new Saturday. (This is probably old news but I live in an IB shell; news such as this radiates back into the atmosphere and doesn’t reach my ears.)

– Finally, the people. I won’t go into the details of every conversation I’ve had this weekend (and I’m yet to decided whether I should name people in this blog or not…we’ll see), but my, I do love my friends 😀 Especially those who were so lovely on Friday night, those who have been living at the bottom of my screen in the facebook chat tab doing maths portfolio all weekend with me, those who are just such bloody amazing people, those who I can have a spontaneous conversation with about anything one night and just be cool about it, those who I can bitch with about certain infuriating c**ts, those who compliment you randomly… All these people make my life so much better. They make me forget about (or at least put into perspective) all the school work that seems to take over at times, and make me feel at home. But you, especially, make my life worth living. You are my best friend, despite the cliché, and I’m so lucky to be able to call you mine 😀 Thank you.

And FINALLY! The real, de-proofed ball photos that I promised almost 2 months ago. I love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

